Choose Tallahassee & COCA Proudly Present
the Tallahassee Arts Guide

Tallahassee's Arts & Cultural Events Calendar

Tallahassee's Arts & Cultural Events Calendar

Tallahassee’s blend of small town atmosphere combined with its big-city activities make it the ideal spot for a diverse & vibrant arts scene. Search these listings from the Tallahassee Arts Guide below to find everything from quaint galleries and historic landmarks to stage performances and music festivals that you can enjoy right here in Florida’s capital city & surrounding area.


499

Presented by Tallahassee Film Society at Online/Virtual Space

January 07 - March 04

To reflect on the 500-year anniversary of the Spanish conquest of Mexico in 2021, director Reyes offers a bold hybrid cinema experience exploring the brutal legacy of colonialism in contemporary Mexico. Through the eyes of a ghostly conquistador, the film recreates Hérnan Cortés' epic journey from the coasts of Veracruz to the Aztec capital of Tenochtitlan, the site of contemporary Mexico City. As the anachronistic fictional character interacts with real-life victims of Mexico's failed...

[more+]

To reflect on the 500-year anniversary of the Spanish conquest of Mexico in 2021, director Reyes offers a bold hybrid cinema experience exploring the brutal legacy of colonialism in contemporary Mexico. Through the eyes of a ghostly conquistador, the film recreates Hérnan Cortés' epic journey from the coasts of Veracruz to the Aztec capital of Tenochtitlan, the site of contemporary Mexico City. As the anachronistic fictional character interacts with real-life victims of Mexico's failed drug wars and indigenous communities in resistance, the filmmaker portrays the country's current humanitarian crisis as part of a vicious and unfinished colonial project, still in motion, nearly five hundred years later. Provocative, unique, and strikingly cinematic, "499" mixes non-fictional and performative elements with elements of the road movie to show how past traumas continue to affect contemporary reality. While linking these seemingly disparate histories of violence, the film confirms Reyes as one of the most potent voices in American independent cinema.
2020. Mexico (English subtitles). 87 minutes. Not rated.

[less-]

Dates & times

Sun, Jan 23 @ 12:00 am Mon, Jan 24 @ 12:00 am Tue, Jan 25 @ 12:00 am + 38 more dates and times

Wed, Jan 26 @ 12:00 am Thu, Jan 27 @ 12:00 am Fri, Jan 28 @ 12:00 am Sat, Jan 29 @ 12:00 am Sun, Jan 30 @ 12:00 am Mon, Jan 31 @ 12:00 am Tue, Feb 01 @ 12:00 am Wed, Feb 02 @ 12:00 am Thu, Feb 03 @ 12:00 am Fri, Feb 04 @ 12:00 am Sat, Feb 05 @ 12:00 am Sun, Feb 06 @ 12:00 am Mon, Feb 07 @ 12:00 am Tue, Feb 08 @ 12:00 am Wed, Feb 09 @ 12:00 am Thu, Feb 10 @ 12:00 am Fri, Feb 11 @ 12:00 am Sat, Feb 12 @ 12:00 am Sun, Feb 13 @ 12:00 am Mon, Feb 14 @ 12:00 am Tue, Feb 15 @ 12:00 am Wed, Feb 16 @ 12:00 am Thu, Feb 17 @ 12:00 am Fri, Feb 18 @ 12:00 am Sat, Feb 19 @ 12:00 am Sun, Feb 20 @ 12:00 am Mon, Feb 21 @ 12:00 am Tue, Feb 22 @ 12:00 am Wed, Feb 23 @ 12:00 am Thu, Feb 24 @ 12:00 am Fri, Feb 25 @ 12:00 am Sat, Feb 26 @ 12:00 am Sun, Feb 27 @ 12:00 am Mon, Feb 28 @ 12:00 am Tue, Mar 01 @ 12:00 am Wed, Mar 02 @ 12:00 am Thu, Mar 03 @ 12:00 am Fri, Mar 04 @ 12:00 am - Less dates

Admission

Rent this film for $12 for 72 hours on our Virtual Cinema!

850-386-4404

filmnews@tallahasseefilms.com

Ticket Website

Are you an artist? Perhaps you’re looking for more arts & cultural opportunities & events? Be sure to check out TallahasseeArts.org for more information about the arts and cultural community in our area.

**This page’s header image provided courtesy of Bob Howard**