Choose Tallahassee & COCA Proudly Present
the Tallahassee Arts Guide

Tallahassee's Arts & Cultural Events Calendar

Tallahassee's Arts & Cultural Events Calendar

Tallahassee’s blend of small town atmosphere combined with its big-city activities make it the ideal spot for a diverse & vibrant arts scene. Search these listings from the Tallahassee Arts Guide below to find everything from quaint galleries and historic landmarks to stage performances and music festivals that you can enjoy right here in Florida’s capital city & surrounding area.


The Art of Jazz

Presented by Foster-Tanner Fine Arts Gallery at Foster-Tanner Fine Arts Gallery- FAMU, Tallahassee

August 30 - October 30

The FAMU Foster-Tanner Fine Arts Gallery in association with the Everett Spruill Foundation for the Arts is pleased to present The Art of Jazz; artworks by Orlando-based artist Everett Spruill. Art of Jazz features mixed media collages and paintings highlighting jazz musicians and the spirit of the legendary music genres. We are proud to present this exhibition because Florida A&M University has a distinguished musical history with dynamic faculty and alumni heralding from our Department of...

[more+]

The FAMU Foster-Tanner Fine Arts Gallery in association with the Everett Spruill Foundation for the Arts is pleased to present The Art of Jazz; artworks by Orlando-based artist Everett Spruill. Art of Jazz features mixed media collages and paintings highlighting jazz musicians and the spirit of the legendary music genres. We are proud to present this exhibition because Florida A&M University has a distinguished musical history with dynamic faculty and alumni heralding from our Department of Music. The jazz genre, in particular, has primed several acclaimed musicians from FAMU. Spruill's, The Art of Jazz encompasses portraits of jazz greats as well as lesser-known contributors to the genre.

ABOUT THE ARTIST Everett Spruill was born in Birmingham, Alabama, and attended Berea College where he studied Business. He started his career in hotel management in Miami and began creating art at this time. From the mid-1990s to 2010, Spruill created a large body of work that responded in a general way to the childlike simplicity of creating art. During this time, the increasingly abstract collages of Spruill's paintings gave way to a multitude of materials from electronic components, textiles, recycled wallpaper, and decorative architectural elements. To create these works, the artist uses appropriated materials and digital technologies. In 2017, Spruill began making wire sculptures for public spaces and developing architectural projects. Still residing in Orlando Florida with his many accolades, Everett Spruill prints and paintings are most famous for his work in the areas of collage and cubist abstraction. (Text taken from everett-spruill.com) The Art of Jazz will be open to the public from August 30 – October 30, 2021. Visitors are welcome to visit the gallery Tuesday - Friday, from 10:00 a.m. until 5:00 p.m., Saturdays, from 11:00 a.m. until 4:00 p.m., or by appointment.

Due to health concerns around the delta variant, we will not have an opening reception. Admission is free and open to the public. For more information contact the gallery at (850) 599-8755 or fostertannergallery@famu.edu

[less-]

Dates & times

Tue, Sep 28 @ 10:00 am Wed, Sep 29 @ 10:00 am Thu, Sep 30 @ 10:00 am + 22 more dates and times

Fri, Oct 01 @ 10:00 am Sat, Oct 02 @ 11:00 am Tue, Oct 05 @ 10:00 am Wed, Oct 06 @ 10:00 am Thu, Oct 07 @ 10:00 am Fri, Oct 08 @ 10:00 am Sat, Oct 09 @ 11:00 am Tue, Oct 12 @ 10:00 am Wed, Oct 13 @ 10:00 am Thu, Oct 14 @ 10:00 am Fri, Oct 15 @ 10:00 am Sat, Oct 16 @ 11:00 am Tue, Oct 19 @ 10:00 am Wed, Oct 20 @ 10:00 am Thu, Oct 21 @ 10:00 am Fri, Oct 22 @ 10:00 am Sat, Oct 23 @ 11:00 am Tue, Oct 26 @ 10:00 am Wed, Oct 27 @ 10:00 am Thu, Oct 28 @ 10:00 am Fri, Oct 29 @ 10:00 am Sat, Oct 30 @ 11:00 am - Less dates

Admission

Free Admission

(850) 599-8755

fostertannergallery@famu.edu

Location

Are you an artist? Perhaps you’re looking for more arts & cultural opportunities & events? Be sure to check out TallahasseeArts.org for more information about the arts and cultural community in our area.

**This page’s header image provided courtesy of Bob Howard**